On my trip to Spain I in April and May 2016 I could admire numerous famous buildings of important architects of modern times.

The Frank Gehry-designed Guggenheim Museum is a prime example of the deconstructivist architecture developed by him, which is characterized by fragmentation of the structure and order in a nearly playful mix of architectural elements and structures. In 1989 he was awarded the prestigious Pritzker Architecture Prize. In Elciego, 130 km from Bilbao, in the growing area of Rioja wine, Gehry designed the hotel of Bodegas Marqués de Riscal. It is clad with titanium and stainless steel as the Guggenheim Museum. The colors of the winery can be found here again: Pink like the red wine, Gold like the net arround the wine bottles of Marqués de Riscal Reserva and Silver like the bottle caps.

Next door in Laguardia 10 km away, the futuristic Bodega Ysios is located. It is designed by Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava, whose architecture is based on shapes and structures in nature. Calatrava’s most famous building is probably the huge cultural complex Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias in his hometown of Valencia, build in 2003.

A highlight of modern architecture in Zaragoza is the Bridge Pavilion, which leads over the Ebro to the exhibition grounds of Expo 2008 site. It was designed by the female Pritzker Prize winner Zaha Hadid who died in March 2016. Hadid’s kinetic style is characterized by strongly flowing shapes. In Expo site you will find more interesting examples of modern architecture.

Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao

Hotel Marqués De Riscal, Elciego

Bodegas Ysios, Laguardia

Bridge pavillon to EXPO 2008, Zaragoza

Bei meiner Reise durch Spanien im April und Mai 2016 konnte ich zahlreiche berühmte Bauwerke bedeutender Architekten der Neuzeit bestaunen.

Das von Frank Gehry entworfene Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao ist ein Musterbeispiel für die von ihm entwickelte dekonstruktivistische Architektur, die durch Aufsplitterung des Baukörpers und Neuordnung in einer fast spielerischen Mixtur architektonischer Elemente und Gliederungsstrukturen gekennzeichnet ist. 1989 erhielt er den renommierten Pritzker-Architekturpreis. In Elciego, 130 km von Bilbao entfernt, im Anbaugebiet des Rioja-Weines, gestaltete Gehry auch das Hotel Bodegas Marqués de Riscal. Es ist wie das Guggenheim Museum mit Titan und Edelstahl verkleidet. Hier finden sich die Farben des Weingutes wieder: Das Rosa für den roten Wein, das Gold nach dem Netz um die Weinflaschen von Marqués de Riscal Reserva und Silber wie die Flaschenkapseln.

Gleich nebenan im etwa 10 km entfernten Laguardia wurde die futuristische Bodega Ysios vom spanischen Stararchitekten Santiago Calatrava entworfen, dessen Architektur sich an Formen und Strukturen in der Natur orientiert. Calatravas berühmtestes Bauwerk ist wohl der 2003 errichtete riesige Kulturkomplex Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias in seiner Heimatstadt Valencia.

Ein Highlight moderner Architektur in Zaragoza ist der Brückenpavillon, der über den Ebro zum Ausstellungsgelände der EXPO 2008 führt. Er wurde von der im März 2016 verstorbenen Pritzker-Preisträgerin Zaha Hadid entworfen. Hadids kinetischer Baustil ist von stark fließenden Formen geprägt. Im EXPO-Gelände findet man weitere interessante Beispiele moderner Architektur.

Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao

Hotel Marqués De Riscal, Elciego

Bodegas Ysios, Laguardia

Brückenpavillon zur EXPO 2008, Zaragoza