• Back in South Africa

  • In this area I live today

My way to Photography

As a 15-year-old schoolboy, I bought the first earned by Summer money a simple viewfinder camera (Voigtländer Vito B). After graduating I was able to afford several modern small and medium format SLRs and intensify my photographic interests me. I also spent a lot of time in my own software and color lab. Soon, numerous awards presented at national and international competitions.

Later, the photograph entered for professional reasons into the background. Since switching from analog to digital camera technology (Canon, Sony) in 2004, I dedicate myself again increasingly to photography. But I don’t participate at competitions anymore.

What I’m interested in

Today I live in Wuerzburg, Germany. I grew up in Upper Franconia, between the Franconian Forest and the Fichtel mountains. My love of nature has its roots here. In numerous journeys to North and South America, Asia, Africa and Europe, my passion for landscape, wildlife and travel photography deepened.

Also added is now the joy of sports photography and in all designs with surprising ways of seeing.

Since the beginning of 2014 I practice the aerial photography with multi-copters.

What I hope for

The close exchange of ideas with peers means a lot to me. If my photographs can inspire friends, acquaintances and sometimes even professionals, then it is the hoped reward for me.

Standing still is boring!

• Damals in Südafrika

  • In dieser Gegend lebe ich heute

Mein Weg zur Fotografie

Als 15-jähriger Schüler kaufte ich mir vom ersten durch Ferienarbeit verdienten Geld eine einfache Sucherkamera (Voigtländer Vito B). Nach dem Studium konnte ich mir dann diverse moderne Kleinbild- und Mittelformat-Spiegelreflexkameras leisten und meine fotografischen Interessen intensivieren. Ich verbrachte auch viel Zeit im eigenen SW- und Farblabor. Bald stellten sich zahlreiche Auszeichnungen bei nationalen und Internationalen Wettbewerben ein.

Später trat die Fotografie aus beruflichen Gründen etwas in den Hintergrund. Seit meinem Wechsel von der analogen zur digitalen Kameratechnik (Canon, Sony) im Jahr 2004 widme ich mich wieder vermehrt der Fotografie. An Wettbewerben beteilige ich mich aber nicht mehr.

Was mich interessiert

Heute lebe ich in Würzburg. Aufgewachsen bin ich in Oberfranken, zwischen Frankenwald und Fichtelgebirge. Meine Naturverbundenheit hat hier ihre Wurzeln. Bei zahlreichen Reisen durch Nord- und Südamerika, Asien, Afrika und Europa vertiefte sich meine große Leidenschaft für die Landschafts-, Wildlife- und Reisefotografie.

Hinzugekommen ist inzwischen die Freude an der Sportfotografie sowie an allen Motiven mit überraschenden Sehweisen.

Seit Anfang 2014 betreibe ich auch die Luftbildfotografie mit Multikoptern.

Was ich mir erhoffe

Der enge Gedankenaustausch mit Gleichgesinnten bedeutet mir viel. Wenn sich Freunde, Bekannte und gelegentlich auch Profis für meine Bilder begeistern können, dann ist mir das der erhoffte Lohn.

Stillstand ist langweilig !